I Figured My Life Out

Haha, jk, that will never happen. I do have big news about future life plans, but let me tell you a little story first.

An accidental occurrence

When I signed up to travel the world for 12 months with a group of strangers, the Remote Year itinerary did not include London, England. The original destination for June 2016 was Istanbul, Turkey, but due to civil unrest in the area, we were rerouted to one of the most expensive cities in the world. Ouch.

So we make it to London, get settled into The Collective co-work / co-live way outside of the city center, and quickly learn how to use the Tube subway system. One benefit of traveling with a group this size is constant recommendations for cool bars and restaurants. The talk of week 1 was a pretty exclusive gin bar in the Shoreditch neighborhood. I love me a good gin martini so Laura and I head over one Saturday evening. Obviously, we weren’t thinking because we didn’t have reservations and couldn’t get in. Darn.

Ok, we’re flexible – what else is around here? That place was too fancy anyway. We step back out into the street and immediately spot a craft beer joint called BrewDog. Brew-who? What-dog? This place is either going to be epic or we need to call PETA asap…

We walk through the front doors into what I can only imagine heaven is like. Amazing craft beer. Enthusiastic staff. Trendy design. Epic food menu. Lots and lots of beards and flannel. As usual, I had a ton of questions for the bartender; but this time they were happy to answer/educate and give me 1 million beer tasters while I decided upon a nice, safe IPA that I would have probably gotten anyway. Laura and I spent the rest of our evening trying delicious new beers. “One of each, please!”

Throughout the month, I hit up another 3 BrewDog locations that were all equally amazing but had a personality of their own. I talked to bartenders, customers, and investors. I read their books. I invested myself. I was hooked.

A long time coming

I worked in the craft beer industry for 6 years in my early 20’s, then graduated from The University of Texas McCombs Business School and was told to get a “real job.” I did and it was fine. I learned a few major lessons: the value I can really bring to a company, how to hire and manage a team, and that I don’t want to work behind a desk in an office full time. Three years was plenty and I left to travel the world.

One of my major goals this year was to uncover my “true passion” or whatever that means. I did a lot of soul-searching, coaching sessions, and even some psychedelics (don’t tell my mom). When asked the question “what would you do if money was not an object?” my honest answer is that I would eat and drink and travel with my friends. I’d also volunteer with and donate to causes I care about – I’m not a monster. Let’s be honest, all of my time and money now go to restaurants and bars.

When I learned of BrewDog six months ago, they had 30+ locations across the UK (and a few international) but did not have a US presence yet. As the fangirl I’d become, I was one of the first to know when they announced their new state-of-the-art brewery in Columbus, Ohio and when they opened the job board.

So what next?

In my last post, I promised to tell you the scoop on my plans after RY. Drum roll please…I’ve accepted a position as Assistant Manager at the flagship USA BrewDog brewery and brewpub in Columbus, Ohio. Laura, myself and little Bingo dog will be moving to Columbus to start a life together and follow our dreams. Neither of us has actually BEEN to Columbus, but according to the internet and good friends, it’s a pretty cool up-and-coming artist town.

Training starts February 3rd at the brewery so things are moving pretty quickly. If this year of rapid travel has prepared me for anything, this is it. I’m taking a huge plunge but I just know in my heart that it’s going to work out perfectly and I can’t wait to get started. The last time I was so sure of something, it was the decision to come on RY and that turned out better than I could have ever imagined. Here we go!

_____

BrewDog Basics:

  • BrewDog Website
  • Started in Scotland in 2007 and now has over 650 employees
  • Ranked Fastest Growing Company in Scotland and also listed in The Sunday Times Fast Track 100 as the fastest growing food and drink company in the UK.

brewdog-growth-chart

More info on BrewDog TV, Equity for Punks, and radical marketing campaigns coming in a future post. Keep an eye out!

Leave a Reply

