Thoughts on Paper

Wow, what a month! It’s been a rollercoaster of emotions and I’ve been so busy I can’t even think, but I wouldn’t change a thing. I’m finally ready to write down some public thoughts for you lovely people since things are starting to slow down and get into a normal routine. I’m drinking less and running more – score!

Sidenote: In the last 2 weeks I potentially broke my toe and overcame a bacterial infection with pretty serious cough. Totally fine now so don’t tell my mom!

The Program

Far and away the best part of Remote Year are my fellow Remotes. I am honored to be part of this smart, thoughtful, inspiring, dedicated group of people. And boy is everyone good looking! The RY staff did an incredible job of hand picking each of us (not to toot my own horn…toot toot!). My heart could just explode thinking about everyone!

We have all sorts of awesome cultural, language, volunteer, and group activities. Imagine going to work like normal, but having awesome plans every night and weekend that you can pick and choose from. Many are organized by RY as official events and we’re also encouraged to set up group activities ourselves.

I Promise We Work!

Well, not my favorite topic at the moment. One of my goals of RY is to become financially self-sufficient and work for myself on my own terms. Turns out that’s not as easy as it sounds. The saving grace is that I have a few months to work it out and that I’m surrounded by brilliant people who want to help.

Our workspace this month is a dream. Sinergia is leading the coworking movement in Uruguay and is an open and vibrant place to be productive. The staff hosts pub crawls, movie nights, and networking events each month to help all members get to know each other and feel comfortable collaborating.

I’m also part of the Battuta Incubator entrepreneur group, which is designed to meet once a week throughout the whole year and act as:

  1. a check-in on projects we’re working on individually
  2. an opportunity to network and collaborate on new projects with dreamers, builders, and do’ers
  3. a platform for activities and speakers aimed at increasing our skillzzzo

Montevideo

Montevideo is such an unusual place once you get past the surface. The main quirk is the hours this city runs on. A typical Friday for a Uruguayan may start with work at 9/10 am, head home to relax after work, go out for dinner at 11pm and the bars around 1am. This old lady can’t hang, man. Also, the majority of shops and restaurants are closed on the weekends. I wish I knew why but really I’m just so confused and hungry on Sundays.

Yes, Montevideo is on the beach but don’t be fooled. Our closest beach is Playa Ramirez and the brown water is a product of the Río de la Plata merging with the South Atlantic Ocean, creating brackish water. The residents do swim here but I’ve yet to see a Remote take the plunge. Instead, we head up the coast every weekend to beaches further from the river in Punta del Este or Cabo Palonio.

There is much more to say about this interesting city, but I’ll leave it to the brilliant Hannah Wolper on this one.


Long story short, I’m having the time of my life and feel, for the first time in a long time, that I’m right where I’m supposed to be.  I know that everything will fall into place if I just keep doing what I’m doing and grow a little each day.

I miss Austin a lot and I miss my friends and family even more. Skipping SXSW this year is killing me but I’m putting together an #honorarySXSW next month in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Keep a look out for those shenanigans.

Love you guys!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

